News Center
Sri Lankan parliament vetoes no-confidence motion against gov't

COLOMBO, July 11 (Xinhua) -- The Sri Lankan parliament on Thursday vetoed a no-confidence motion against the government with 119 legislators voting against and 92 voting in favor in the 225-member house.

The motion was taken up for vote after a two-day debate.

The motion was submitted to the parliament on Wednesday by a Sri Lankan opposition political party, the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP), who stated that the government must resign over their failure to prevent the Easter Sunday terror attacks.

JVP leader Anura Kumara Dissanayaka told the parliament on Wednesday that the no-confidence motion was submitted against the prime minister, the cabinet of ministers and the government over their failure to take prompt action to prevent the suicide bombings on April 21, despite the police having prior knowledge of possible attacks.

The terror attacks killed over 250 people and injured over 500 others.

Addr:2002 East Ruijing, No.16 Jianguomenwai Avenue, Chaoyang District, Beijing
Copyright © 2013-2017 Global CAMG Media Group